Amai Greentea

If there’s a will, there’s a way.

I was amazed by how strong Hida’s will could be. Hida was an administrator at a private vocational school whose salary was barely enough for her monthly needs. However, she was still keen on opening her own matcha greentea online shop. With all due respect, I couldn’t see it happening. Her monthly payment barely covered her grocery budget let alone an initial business capital.

“Are you sure? Can you make it with your salary rate?”, I was extremely skeptical.

“I am positive depending solely on my salary won’t get me anywhere. But, if there’s a will, there’s a way”, she replied as optimistic as always.

I got nothing to say. There’s no arguing with her when she had set her eyes on something. She spent an entire night in front of my laptop, browsing trough hundreds of online shops which sold various shapes of plastic and foil packages. I couldn’t help but feel sympathetic towards her optimism.

A few days after, Amai Greentea was born. It was the name I came up with for Hida’s new matcha greentea product. Amai was a Japanese word meaning sweet. Hida was pretty fond of it as I saw how obvious her smile was when I proposed the name.

“This should do”, as she smiled and turned off the laptop that had been on for 6 hours.

We began promoting Amai Greentea through every social media we were familiar with. We were on twitter, instagram, facebook, I even made a blog to show off our merchandise and gain more potential partners. However, it didn’t seem to help the sale as well as we expected. With my zero marketing skill and Hida’s full-time job as a school administrator, we would consider ourselves lucky to get even one more costumer once in a week.

“This isn’t going great”, Hida sighed.

I was sensing her optimism began to fade away. There was no way to sugarcoat the fact that the business was on the brink of its downfall. Actually, it didn’t surprise me as much. I didn’t expect a couple of non-experienced entrepreneurs to gain massive success on their first try.

Hida hasn’t given up on Amai Greentea just yet. She gave so many product testers to so many people, and most of them think Amai tea tastes better than most greentea beverages they had at their regular cafes. This pretty much encourages her to keep the business alive, no matter how hard it might get.

Pst. Putting the previous, positive sounding paragraph aside, I still believe we need some marketing counseling.

2 Comments

  1. Really interesting it’s written in such a simple way that every one can understand. Well, it makes a long time now, I always had the idea of writing something like a short story but I believe that the most difficult is always the beginning.

    1. Hi, Issaad. Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment on my blog. I am glad you find my writing easy to understand. Yes, I also believe that starting something new is not easy. We are still new to this and inexperienced, but we try to keep our heads held high and learn from our mistake as much as we possibly can.

Let's Discuss!

